Official Announcement – Annual colloquy of seminary students for the third year classes

Official Announcement – Annual colloquy of seminary students for the third year classes
Concordia Theological Seminary Seal

On October 24th and 25th, the Plenary Pastoral Conference of the Concordia Lutheran Conference met in Oak Forest, Illinois, in a special Fall Session for the chief purpose of colloquizing our theological students on the material covered in their third year of study at our seminary.  This annual colloquy or comprehensive oral examination is customarily held in conjunction with our annual Conventions in June; but this past year the colloquy was postponed to the fall because a special summer session was required to finish up the third year coursework with our students.

After two days of rigorous discussion, conducted chiefly by the chairman of our Committee on Theological Education and its second pastoral member but participated in also by the other pastors present, the Pastoral Conference unanimously recognized that all three students had successfully passed their third year colloquy.

The colloquy, together with the final examinations written by the students at the close of each semester and the final grades issued by their professors, determines whether and to what extent the students have mastered the material content of the courses taken.

We praise and magnify the Lord of the Church for His grace in motivating our students to “study” zealously and diligently to become “workmen that need not to be ashamed” (II Timothy 2:15), so that, at the conclusion of their theological training in our seminary program, they will be fit and prepared to undertake the Pastoral Office and the Ministry of the Word and Sacraments upon the call of the Holy Ghost mediately through one or more of our local congregations (Acts 20:28).  To that blessed end we commit both professors and students to the Lord’s gracious keeping, to prosper their work, and to bless abundantly all their faithful labors.

— The Rev. Edward J. Worley, Chairman
Committee on Theological Education